top of page

CRAZY FOR COOKIES!

First thoughts when you hear “Vegan Dessert”. Go!


Dry

Brittle

Bitter

Nasty

Gross

I don’t want it

Um….No thanks


Let’s be honest, vegan desserts got a bad rep. When people hear the term, negative associations come flooding in like the levees done broke. As if a satisfying sweet treat has to contain eggs and dairy butter to taste rich and decadent! This, my friends, couldn’t be further from the truth.


✌️ Things:

1. Eggs serve as a binding agent in baked goods and dairy butter serves as the fat.

2. Who says we must limit ourselves to only one option for binding and only one option for fat. There are so many options!


We can use, bananas, chia seeds, and my personal favorite, tofu to marry our ingredients together. We can also use oils, honey, pressed vegetable oils aka vegan butters to add fat to baking recipes. These varieties of binding agents and fat serve the same purpose of eggs and dairy butter, give the same result, and in many cases, produce a lighter and less weighed down final product.


Thus vegan desserts are nothing to turn your nose up at, in fact, they can be just as delicious with half the calorie count.


For example:


There are 78 calories and 5 grams of fat in a single egg whereas there are 38 calories and 2.29 grams of fat in 1/4 cup of soft tofu (the kind used for baking). Can I get an amen! 🙏💪


When I went plant based, I thought I didn’t have any options and that my new life would be full of poorly seasoned vegetable plates at restaurants and dirty looks at family reunions from my big, southern, pulled pork lovin’ clan. But child was I wrong! A little time, research and lots of experimentation opened my eyes to everything that mother nature has to offer. There are so many options available this day and age to make the same familiar and comforting recipes without using animal by-products.


For many years I have kept this recipe close to the chest. Everyone always asks me how I make these cookies and what I put in them that makes them so soft and gooey, bursting with chocolatey flavor. Up until now, I’ve always maintained the same mischievous smile and calm voice, delivering the line “That’s classified information”….hehehe 😈. But who am I! I’ve turned a new leaf, FREE INFORMATION FOR THE PEOPLE!


Whatever the occasion, school bake sale, potluck, birthday party, period pains screamin’ like Cookie Monster “COOKIES”, this recipe is delicious and super duper simple.


INGREDIENTS:

2 & 1/4 CUP ALL PURPOSE FLOUR

1 TSP BAKING SODA

1 TSP SALT

1 CUP (2 STICKS) VEGAN BUTTER (I use Earth Balance or I Can't Believe It's Not Butter).....Can use dairy butter if your heart desires

3/4 CUP BROWN SUGAR

3/4 CUP WHITE SUGAR

1 TSP VANILLA EXTRACT

1/4 CUP SOFT TOFU......Or 2 large eggs if your heart desires

2 CUPS SEMI-SWEET CHOCOLATE CHIPS

*OPTION add nuts if you want!

DIRECTIONS:

PREHEAT OVEN TO 375º

In a bowl combine flour, baking soda, and salt.

In a separate bowl combine brown and white sugar, softened butter, and vanilla extract. Mix until smooth.

Gradually add tofu to sugar mixture and mix till smooth.

Gradually add flour mixture to sugar mixture and mix till smooth.

Fold in chocolate chips (and nuts if you choose to add them).

Using a large spoon to measure, form cookies and place on a non-stick cookie sheet.

Bake in oven at 375º for 15-20 minutes until golden brown. Leave in longer for desired crispiness!


bottom of page